Aspen Journalism board and advisors

Board of Directors

Tim McFlynn, chair
Tim is the executive director of Public Counsel of the Rockies and a professional mediator with Aspen Dispute Resolution. He was co-founder and a longtime trustee of Pitkin County Open Space and Trails and co-founder and director of the Manaus Fund. He has served as board president of Aspen Center for Environmental Studies, Wilderness Workshop, and Western Resource Advocates.

Mark Harvey, treasurer
Mark is a rancher, writer, filmmaker and photographer. He is the author of “The NOLS Wilderness Guide” and the producer and director of the documentary “A Land Out of Time.” Mark is the current president of the board of EcoFlight and has served on the boards of High Country News, Aspen Center for Environmental Studies, and Public Counsel of the Rockies.

Harry Teague
Harry is the founder and principal designer at Harry Teague Architects. He has lived in the Aspen area since 1972, when he received his master’s degree in architecture from the Yale School of Architecture. Harry’s work includes the Benedict Music Tent, Harris Hall and the campus of the Aspen Music Festival and School.

Michael McVoy
Michael is an Aspen-based investment adviser, the former co-publisher of The Aspen Times and a Manaus Fund board member.

Journalism Advisory Board

Curtis Robinson
Curtis is the co-founder of Roaring Fork Sunday and a former editor of the Aspen Daily News. He remains at-large. He’s also the chair of our journalism advisory board.

Dave Danforth
Dave is the founder and former owner of the Aspen Daily News.

Charles Davis
Charles is dean of the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Georgia and is co-author of “Principles of American Journalism.”

Charlie Firestone
Charlie is the executive director of the Aspen Institute Communications and Society Program and previously was director of the communications law program at UCLA.

Laura Frank
Laura is vice president, journalism at Rocky Mountain PBS in Denver and a former investigative reporter at the Rocky Mountain News.

David Krause
David is the editor of The Aspen Times.

Catherine Lutz
Catherine is a freelance writer and journalist and the former managing editor of the Aspen Daily News.

John Masters
John is the executive director at GrassRoots Community Network.

Carolyn Sackariason
Carolyn is a reporter at The Aspen Times. She also has served as news director at Aspen Public Radio and as editor at the Aspen Daily News and the Snowmass Sun.

Steve Skinner
Steve is a columnist at the Aspen Daily News, served as general manager at KDNK and is now guiding KFFR, a public radio station in Grand County.

Elizabeth Stewart-Severy
Elizabeth is the environment reporter at Aspen Public Radio. Her work focuses on the local implications of national and world-wide environmental issues, including climate issues, energy development, land use policy and recreation.

Andy Stone
Andy is the former editor of The Aspen Times, where he also wrote a column for years. He’s the author of “Aspen Drift.”

Curtis Wackerle
Curtis is the editor of the Aspen Daily News.

Nancy Watzman
Nancy is the director of the Colorado Media Project.

Mike Webb
Mike is the former vice president of communications at ProPublica.

Financial and legal advisers

Denise Jurgens
Denise, a CPA and partner at Reese Henry and Company, has deep expertise in auditing and accounting services and has vast knowledge of Internal Revenue Service rules for not-for-profit organizations. Since 2011, Denise has overseen preparation of Aspen Journalism’s annual tax filings and provides guidance and oversight on nonprofit and financial matters.

Mike Marolt
Mike is a CPA and a KPMG Peat Marwick alumnus. He’s also one of the first Americans to climb and ski down 8,000-meter mountains. Mike prepares Aspen Journalism’s monthly and annual financial statements and provides us with the same level-headed guidance that he does to his climbing partners on the big peaks.

Ken Ransford
Legal adviser
Ken is an attorney, investment adviser and CPA specializing in income-tax and estate-tax law for small businesses, individuals and nonprofit organizations. Ken prepared and filed Aspen Journalism’s successful application in 2011 to obtain 501(c)(3) status for Aspen Journalism, and he offers us guidance on nonprofit matters as necessary.