Aspen Journalism personnel

Brent Gardner-Smith/Aspen Journalism

Brent Gardner-Smith is executive director and editor of Aspen Journalism. Since moving to Aspen in 1982, he’s been reporter at the Aspen Daily News, The Aspen Times, and KSNO. And he’s also served as executive director at Aspen Public Radio and public affairs director at Aspen Skiing Co. His reporting has been recognized by the Colorado Press Association, the Colorado Broadcasters Association and the Society of Professional Journalists. In 2010 Gardner-Smith worked in the communications department at ProPublica as part of earning his master’s degree in journalism from the University of Missouri School of Journalism. His graduate work focused on the management of nonprofit news organizations, and he founded Aspen Journalism in 2011.

Dave Reed. Before his career in development began, Dave worked as a reporter with The Aspen Times, and then as a trade journalist, travel writer, author (“The Rough Guide to Nepal”) and editor. He has also served as the development director for the Wilderness Workshop, a writer and editor at the Rocky Mountain Institute, and as executive director of the Western Colorado Alliance.

Heather Sackett is the managing editor at Aspen Journalism and the editor and reporter on our water desk, covering water and rivers in the Colorado River basin. Heather earned her master’s degree in 2019 from the University of Colorado’s Center for Environmental Journalism, with an emphasis on nonprofit news organizations. She’s worked as a reporter at the The Denver Post, the Littleton Independent, the Telluride Daily Planet and KOTO. Her work has also been published in The Colorado Sun, Trail Runner Magazine, UltraRunning Magazine and Adventure Journal. Heather won the 2018 Center of the American West Thompson Award for Western Writing and her reporting has been recognized by the Colorado Press Association. And she is the author of the Colorado Mountain Club’s guidebook “The Best Crested Butte Hikes.”

Elizabeth Stewart-Severy is covering environmental issues, including biodiversity, for Aspen Journalism. She most recently worked as the environmental reporter at Aspen Public Radio, and she has also taught journalism and English at Aspen High School. An Aspen native, Elizabeth was a Boettcher Scholar at the University of Colorado, where she earned her bachelor’s degree in journalism and her master’s degree in education. Her reporting work at Aspen Public Radio was recognized by the Colorado Broadcasters Association.

Tim Cooney is a writer digging deep into aspects of Aspen’s rich ski, mining, and community history. He’s written for Aspen Journalism about the history of the Little Annie ski area, the 1984 avalanche in Highland Bowl, and the history of skiing on Mount Hayden. His work has appeared frequently in Aspen Sojourner magazine. He is also a veteran ski patroller on Aspen Mountain.

Dale Ulland. Over his 34 years in the newspaper business, Dale’s worked as a reporter, features editor, page designer and copy editor. He’s worked at the Bozeman (Mont.) Daily Chronicle, the Los Alamos (N.M.) Monitor, The Fort Collins Coloradoan and The Denver Post, where he was employed for more than 20 years. Dale has master’s degree in creative writing from the University of Montana.


We’ve worked with a growing list of talented freelance reporters …

Lindsay Fendt
Lauren Blair
Ali Margo
Jason Blevins
Sarah Tory
Catherine Lutz
Allen Best
Madeline Osberger
Paul Andersen
Bob Ward
John Colson
Tim Mutrie
David Frey